MY WINDOWS 10 CAPSTONE (part 2)

Had to download VMWare Workstation 10 as well due to slow response and errors from VM created in Workstation version 9.

Implementation:

Screenshot
Screenshot of Windows 10 installation dialog

After cleaning up my blog and making all of the necessary changes I began working on rough drafts and notes as I performed my tests of Windows 10. My VMs are ready to go, the upgrade of Windows 7 went well, all of my apps and files were installed, all of the previous settings were maintained, even Office 2007, Malwarebytes, and CCleaner. Build 9841 is now installed on both laptops and I have began to perform daily tasks. There is quite a few people posting to the Microsoft forums, I’m already getting an idea of bugs to look for and tweaks to make.

Assessment:

The initial build seemed to have some issues with responsiveness on the VM, but appeared to run smoothly on the laptops, as far as browsers go Internet Explorer ran fine but Chrome seemed to lag. For the most part the operating experience is very similar to Windows 8.1.

Of the many new shell enhancements, there are some new icons throughout (This PC, Folders, a touch keyboard launcher is in the notification area, the OneDrive cloud icon is there, as is a New Notifications feature. Near the Start button is a Search Icon and what is called the Task View which launches the new virtual desktop feature.

With the desktop switcher, the user can have multiple desktops, each displaying different apps or files that can easily be dragged from one desktop to the other. Hint: Press WIN+ CTRL +Left or Right to switch desktops, or WIN+CTRL+D to add another one.

I noticed a slightly different appearance to opened Windows that looks a bit more modern to me. And it appears that there are some new features (more on this later)There is a Start Menu again which seems to be a combination of the Start Screen and a Menu.

It’s not arranged the same as Windows 7 but programs and features look like they are easy to find. One thing to note, the Start Menu is not enable by default, when the OS installs and boots to a desktop, the user must right click the Taskbar, select Properties and then choose Start Menu over Start Screen.

Start Menu
Windows 10 new start menu

One bug concerning the Start button, it seems like the user must mouse in about a quarter of the way to the right and hook over to the Start button for it to work. A direct approach would not launch the Start Menu.

For those that like to work from the Command Prompt terminal, Windows 10 sports a new terminal with added hot key features. For instance, CTRL+V now pastes text into the command line.

The first CTRL+C copies the text and clears the selection, and the second one sends the BREAK command, CTRL+A will at first capture all the text after the prompt, hit it again to select the entire area.

If the user opens the Command Prompt Properties, there is a new tab labeled “Experimental” with even more features such as Word and Line Wrapping, Filter Clipboard.Capture

My other tests went OK, in head to head comparisons with Linux Mint and Elementary OS, Windows 10 used as much or fewer resources as the Linux distributions did.

Within two weeks, build 9860 was released. If the user clicks Start>PC Settings>Update, they can select whether they want to be in the fast or slow lane for new builds, I chose the fast lane.

Two weeks later I had to update once again to Build 9879 which is the first to include user feedback. Each upgrade was basically a new install and more than once my VM crashed and had to be recreated from scratch. Build 9879 is a lot buggier than previous builds, Metro apps not launching, programs opening and closing, and the Task View Desktop Switcher not working at all. It’s good that MS warns the user of the risks involved before they install Windows 10. as for me, I can’t go back. It will be staying on my laptop for sure. Even if it’s buggy, I’m learning ways to fix it that can be applied in the workforce as I begin a new career. Windows 10 is the future of Microsoft and I plan on continuing to get under the hood and familiarize myself with the new Operating System.

Conclusion:

This has been an enjoyable and educational project, I can say that I’ve learned quite a bit about Windows and how different programs function. I dug deeper than I did in even the Windows Fundamentals class. I learn a little more HTML, I’ve sharpened my troubleshooting and keyboarding skills and acquired new command line tools. I put myself out there by commenting in the user forums. This project has also injected new purpose to my WINDOWSTEN blog as I intend to continue writing and reviewing. Welcome to WINDOWSTEN.

 

Leave a Reply

